Uganda (/juːˈɡændə/ yew-GAN-də or /juːˈɡɑːndə/ yew-GAHN-də), officially the Republic of Uganda, is a landlocked country in East Africa. It is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the southwest by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania. Uganda is the world's second most populous landlocked country after Ethiopia. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania. Uganda is in the African Great Lakes region. Uganda also lies within the Nile basin, and has a varied but generally a modified equatorial climate. Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom, which encompasses a large portion of the south of the country, including the capital Kampala. The people of Uganda were hunter-gatherers until 1,700 to 2,300 years ago, when Bantu-speaking populations migrated to the southern parts of the country. Beginning in 1894, the area was ruled as a protectorate by the British, who established administrative law across the territory. Uganda gained independence from Britain on 9 October 1962. The period since then has been marked by intermittent conflicts, including a lengthy civil war against the Lord's Resistance Army in the Northern region, which has caused tens of thousands of casualties and displaced more than a million people. The official language is English. Luganda, a central language, is widely spoken across the country, and several other languages are also spoken including Runyoro, Runyankole, Rukiga, and Luo. The president of Uganda is Yoweri Museveni, who came to power in January 1986 after a protracted six-year guerrilla war.



Uganda MAAIF Under-Secretary Visits JIRCAS

The Under-Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF) of the Republic of Uganda, Mr. Puis Wakabi Kasaja, together with Dr. James Ambrose Agona, Director General of the National Agricultural Research Organization of Uganda visited JIRCAS on July 24, 2017.



宝示戸貞雄, 堀端俊造, 熱研資料. 58 ( )

nekken_shiryo58-_-.pdf15.29 MB

キャッサバ : 熱帯農業における重要性と将来性

山田 登, 熱帯農研集報. 26 , 13- 24 ( )